Sunshine for the long trek (Day 5)

Our guides were really cracking the whip this morning. Luggage drop-off was 7:20 so we could be at breakfast by 7:30. I had my first “full Scottish” breakfast at the Real Food Cafe: sausage, black pudding, bacon, egg, beans, tattie scone, fried mushrooms. I should have taken a picture of it. It was more than I could eat, but delicious.

Becky (our guide), April, Brian
Susanna (Hungary), Kathryn (Australia), Ernie, Christine, Anne, Matthew,Tom, Laurie, Monica, Karen, Irving. Photo by Alvina, our other guide.

Perhaps the best feature of our lodging in Tyndrum was the drying room. Starting today with dry boots really made a difference.

Today we walked from Tyndrum to Kingshouse Hotel in Glencoe. It was listed as 30km, but since my watch has been measuring 2-4 km longer than the itinerary stated, I was braced for more. I thought it was going to be a little flatter, but we had a very long climb and descent towards the end of the day. The weather was glorious. I only put on my raincoat at the end of the day when rain started as we were coming into the hotel. Fortunately, since our guides were encouraging us to keep moving, we arrived at our luxurious hotel around 5pm with plenty of time to enjoy it.

It was a long day, but a pleasant one. There was lots of time to look around and take in the beautiful environment.

We spent quite a few kilometers on an old military cobblestone road that was fairly hard on the feet.

Obligatory waterfall picture
Rowan tree on the left
Morning bathroom break at the Bridge of Orchy.
Heather
A little bird who hopped beside me when we stopped for a break.
Weather
A long road
An example of what the cobblestone road often looked like.
There was a stretch of woods that looked like they might swallow you up in the darkness.

One thought on “Sunshine for the long trek (Day 5)

Leave a comment